Working Groups

Working Groups form the backbone of IIPPE. The purpose of the working groups is to facilitate discussion and collaboration in order to strengthen and further the development of political economy. We currently have working groups organised around 20 topics. IIPPE working groups are at various stages of development with each running itself subject to conforming to broader IIPPE aims. So far, activities that have been organised by IIPPE working groups include workshops, panels at conferences, online debates and exchange of literature and other resources. The IIPPE working groups have brought together researchers from across disciplines, institutions and countries. A number of working groups are planning working paper series and other collaborative work. IIPPE is looking to expand the diversity and scope of the working groups, and we welcome suggestions and offers to organise new working groups as well as collaboration with other working groups from outside the initiative. Those interested in this should contact individual working groups or, for more general enquiries, those interested in setting up new groups please contact the working groups coordinator Alfredo Saad-Filho (

Current Working Groups and Co-ordinators

Working Group Co-ordinator(s)
Africa Hannah Cross ( and Elisa Greco (
Agrarian Change Leandro Vergara-Camus (
Beyond Developmental State Jyoti Saraswati (
Commodity Studies Susan Newman (
Conflict, War and Development Niels Hahn (
Environment Murat Arsel ( and Bram Buscher (
Financialisation Bruno Bonizzi ( and Ezgi Unsal (
History of Economic Thought, Economic Methodology and Critique of the Mainstream Dimitris Milonakis (
Marxist Political Economy Gong Gimm ( and Heesang Jeon (
Moving Beyond Capitalism Al Campbell (
Neoliberalism Feyzi Ismail (, Matt Eagleton-Pierce (, Damien Cahill ( and Kean Birch (
Political Economy and Religions Salvatore Drago (
Political Economy of China’s Development Sam-Kee Cheng (
Political Economy of Work Matt Cole (
Poverty George Labrinidis (
Privatisation Thomas Haines-Doran (
Progressive European Policies Al Campbell (
Social Capital Asimina Christoforou (
Social Reproduction Hannah Bargawi ( and Sara Stevano (
Teaching PE Elisa Van Waeyenberge ( and Kevin Deane (
Urban and Regional Political Economy Jamie Gough (, Ozlem Celik (
World Economy Abelardo Marina Flores (, Lucia Pradella ( and Rubens R. Sawaya (